Sushi is Delicious

10 Sep

It is. If you haven’t tried it, do it. Raw fish doesn’t want to hurt you, it just wants to fill your belly with tasty delight.

This is my home now.

 

I think sushi is more than just a food, it is an art. The chef must find combinations that work with the raw fish that can both compliment it and not hog the spotlight. Even rolls with no fish in them are good, like sweet yam rolls and avocado rolls. Both are creamy, but well-complimented with soy sauce or on their own with rice and nori. Lately, I’ve become aware of the phenomenon of macadamia nuts in sushi. I like it. Actually, I like it a lot. Typically macadamia nuts are served as a dessert, whether it be covered in chocolate or mixed into a cookie batter. But in sushi it adds a sweetness and texture that can really add to the experience. Plus, macadamia nuts are good for you!

I’ve also been trying out rolls with fruit in them, which seems like it would be an illogical pairing. Turns out, it’s not so bad. I went out to dinner to Sushi Garden in Capitola and tried their mango unagi roll. It ended up being my favorite roll of the night. There is also a restaurant in my home town that pairs grapefruit, avocado, tuna, and lemon olive oil together into a quite flavorful appetizer. If there is an odd pairing of flavors you’ve enjoyed, let me know! I’d love to have something new to try.

Leave a Reply

